Effective August 9th, 2021
Please Note: In an effort to reduce the transmission of COVID-19 inside the Sheriff's Office Headquarters building located at 345 W. 2nd Street, Dayton, OH 45422, face masks will be required.
Effective July 1st, 2021
In accordance to Ohio law, effective July 1st, 2021, residents applying for CHL (new and renewal applications) can only apply in their county of residence or adjacent county. Residents will no longer have an extended grace period of 90 days, but will return to the original 30 day grace period. Residents who are unable to renew within the 30 day grace period of their permit expiring will NOT be required to retake a CHL class. Please be advised you will not be able to carry concealed after the 30 day grace period until your permit is renewed.
Previously, Governor DeWine signed House Bill 614 which states if your license is scheduled to expire between March 9, 2020 and June 30, 2021, the expiration date is extended by 90 days or until June 30, 2021, whichever is later. House Bill 614 also allowed residents of Ohio to apply for a license or renew a license at ANY Sheriff’s office in Ohio. Residents were not limited to their residing county or an adjacent county. This bill expires on June 30, 2021.
Effective March 15th, 2021
The Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office has launched a new program in their Concealed Handgun Licensing (CHL) Department called “Permitium,” which allows citizens to make appointments, apply for new or renewal permits and pay for concealed carry permits or Background Webchecks online.
Please note: You must bring in any documents you may have uploaded for your appointment.
Residents who are unable to make an appointment online or use a credit/debit card can come down to the CHL Department during normal business hours (Monday-Friday 8:00am-3:00pm, excluding legal holidays) to: apply for their permit or background check, pay for their appointment (cash, check, or money order), and to schedule their appointment. Those applying in person must bring down the proper documentation needed for the corresponding appointment (Ex. Certification, ID, etc).
**If you need a replacement or address change on your CHL permit or background check for reasons other than Concealed Carry, you can still book online. Our office conducts FBI/BCI&I Background Checks on Tuesdays. **
*Please Note: There is NO penalty for renewals after your CHL permit expires*
*Fingerprint CARD services are still suspended at this time.*
C.H.L. Hotline - (937) 225-4216
Attention C.H.L. Instructors and Applicants!! Check your certificates! In order for your C.H.L. training certificate to meet the requirements of the Ohio Revised Code, there is certain wording that needs to be either on the certificate somewhere or on a separate affidavit provided by the instructor. The Montgomery County Sheriff's Office WILL NOT accept your certificate if it does not have the following wording on it because the certificate DOES NOT meet the C.H.L. requirements:
"The instructor of this course attests that the course met the requirements described in Section 2923.125(G)(1) of the Ohio Revised Code and that the applicant passed the competency examination described in Section 2923.125(G)(2) of the Ohio Revised Code."
This does NOT apply to military personnel who provide the military weapons training record or DD214 in lieu of the training certificate (DD214 must have a weapons qualification if you did not take the Ohio C.H.L. class).
IMPORTANT SENATE BILL 81 INFORMATION
Senate Bill-81 allows for veterans to receive a no-cost C.H.L. license. If you are an active, reserve, or retired member of the armed forces, or were honorably discharged, there is no fee to apply for a new or renewal license. You must present an active duty ID or a copy of your form DD-214 showing an honorable discharge at the time of application. NOTE: An applicant’s DD-214 must read “Honorable” or “Honorable Discharge” in the Character of Service box. “General Discharge”, “General Discharge Under Honorable Conditions”, or similar language does not meet the requirements of the Ohio Revised Code to obtain a fee free license.
If you are applying for a new Conceal Carry Permit under Senate Bill 81 you must also provide a weapons qualification. This can be on your DD214 (expert sharpshooter, marksmanship, etc.) or on a qualification page (AF 522, ect.). If you do not have a weapons qualification you must take the class and provide your certificate when applying. Your DD214 will allow you to get a free permit.
The Attorney General monitors the number of license fees waived statewide and caps the total amount allowed to be waived at $1.5 million each year. When the funds are depleted statewide, the fee will no longer be waived until November 5th of the following year.
Senate Bill 81 also allows a C.H.L. holder to renew their license at any time before or after the expiration date.
MEDICAL MARIJUANA WARNING
EFFECTIVE September 8, 2016, Ohio House Bill 523 legalized medical marijuana in Ohio and created the Ohio Medical Marijuana Control Program (MMCP). The MMCP allows individuals with certain medical conditions to purchase and use medical marijuana upon the recommendation of an Ohio-licensed physician certified by the State Medical Board.
However, federal law (18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(3)) prohibits any person “who is an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance (as defined in section 102 of the Controlled Substances Act (21 U.S.C. 802))” from shipping, transporting, receiving, or possessing firearms or ammunition. Marijuana is listed in the federal controlled substances Act as a Schedule I controlled substance.
There are no exceptions in federal law for marijuana used for medical purposes – even if such use is sanctioned by state law.
Therefore, even if you are legally using medical marijuana under the MMPC, you may be denied an Ohio Concealed Handgun License and may be prohibited carrying a concealed handgun under federal law.
An applicant must be a resident of Montgomery County (or an adjoining county: Butler, Preble, Clark, Darke, Warren, Miami, or Greene). Applicants must be at least 21 years of age and not a fugitive from justice. Many criminal offenses will bar an applicant from obtaining a license. For further detailed information, visit the State of Ohio Attorney General's web site at www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/
The Montgomery County Sheriff's Office will inform applicants by email when the application has been approved. Applicants will be informed in writing by mail if an application has been denied along with the reason for the denial. No information about the status of a pending application will be provided by telephone.
Permit holders are required to notify the issuing Sheriff of any address changes that occur once a Permit is issued. Address change requests must be made in writing with a photocopy of your permit attached. Requests may be mailed to The Montgomery County Sheriff's Office at 345 W. Second St., Attn: CHL Dayton, OH 45422. It is OPTIONAL, not required, to get a permit card reprinted after an address change. If you desire a new permit after an address change, the fee is $15. Please make an appointment online for an address change or replacement permit.
It is a felony to carry a firearm into the Montgomery County Sheriff's Office or any Montgomery County building.
FAILURE TO DISCLOSE A CRIMINAL RECORD WHEN APPLYING FOR A CHL PERMIT WILL BE TREATED AS FILING A FALSE LEGAL DOCUMENT AND COULD RESULT IN CRIMINAL PROSECUTION AND/OR THE DENIAL OF YOUR PERMIT! YOUR APPLICATION IS CONSIDERED A LEGAL DOCUMENT AND IT IS EXPECTED TO CONTAIN COMPLETE AND ACCURATE INFORMATION.
YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR KNOWING YOUR CRIMINAL HISTORY!
VIEW INFORMATION ON DISQUALIFYING CRITERIA